Alumni Meet 2023 – SGC, Namchi

23-03-2023: Sikkim Government College, Namchi hosted its alumni meet amidst a gathering of students, teachers and non-teaching staff today at its auditorium. For the first time in the history of Sikkim Government College, Namchi a healthy interactive session was witnessed comprising of the alumni of the first batch till the present (1995 to 2022) creating an amalgamation of community of students from the different phases of the college since its inception in 1995. The occasion was graced by its former student and incumbent MLA of Rangang-Yangyang Ms. Rajkumari Thapa and Chairman,UDHD, GOS Mr. KB Rai among others.

The event commenced with the lighting of the lamp by MLA, Chairman, and the principal of the college Dr. Deepak Tiwari. This was followed by the offering of khadas to the alumni of the institute by the Dean of student affairs Dr. Diki Bhutia and Vice Principal of the college Ms. DikiOngmu Lepcha. The welcome address was delivered by the Dean of Student Affairs while Dr. Tewari, Principal addressed the gathering highlighting the essence of the alumni meet as an indispensable part of the institute. He mentioned the college has sent out more than 18000 graduates till now. The main agenda of the formation of the alumni as highlighted by the principal are under.

  • To generate a sense of belongingness among the students for the institute.
  • To instill and inculcate a bonding between the students leading to the holistic development within the society.
  • The formation of the alumni association for tracing the whereabouts of students who studied in the institute
  • To fulfil the criteria 5 under NAC as alumni engagement.

The event also witnessed the sharing of experiences by the alumni of the institute followed by the address of senior faculties Dr. Pankaj Kumar Das and Dr. Laxmi Rai. The vote of thanks was delivered by Dr, Yugal Kishore Khanal.

Finally, the event closed through the formation of the alumni association comprising of the

President: Dhruv Sharma

Vice President: MLA RajkumariThapa

General Secretary 1: ND Sherpa

General Secretary 11: Kyondit Lepcha

Joint Secretary: Nanda Kumar Sharma

Treasurer 1: Amar Subba

Treasurer 11: Jinah Manger

Cultural Secretary: Suman Ghimerey

Sports Secretary: Shadew Chettri

Literary Secretary: RandeepRai

Publicity Secretary: Puran Tamang

Advisors: KB Rai and Minister, Bhim Hang Limboo

Members: All the other attendees.

Leave a Comment